Reading Out Loud with My Child

What should I listen for when I read with my child?

High school students still greatly benefit from reading out loud with their parents. Students can struggle in two ways with reading: they may make use of poor reading comprehension strategies, and they may have poor decoding (sounding out) skills. When you have your child read out loud, you should be listening for a few different things:

  • How well can my child sound out words?
  • How fluidly does my chlid read? Doe he or she read in a choppy manner, pausing between each word?
  • Does my child miss words and not correct him or herself?
  • Does mychild pay attention to punctuation and pause after comas and periods and raise his or her voice after a question?
Struggles with any of the above skills may lead to struggles with reading comprehension as well. Learning to read fluently is often a matter of consistent practice. Here is a website that you can use to help your chlid with the mechanics of reading (sounding out words, fluency, and vocabulary). To view resources that can help your child with their oral reading, click here or contact the LST department for more information.